PDA

View Full Version : Help me string along a scammer.


brynm
11-07-2009, 11:34 PM
I want to waste as much of this guy's time as I can. Saw an ad posted on Kijiji yesterday for a 94 Supra for $5500. Car looked pretty good, but the price was at least $5000 cheaper than other comparable Supra's. Sent him an email asking where car was located and what mods were done to it. Received this back today:

Re: Reply to your "1994 Toyota Supra + Aftermarket 400 Watt Amplifier and Subwoofer" Ad on Kijiji‏
From: William Thompson (wingsofwar55@comcast.net)
You may not know this sender.Mark as safe|Mark as junk
Sent: November 7, 2009 4:23:06 PM
Hello there,
Thank you for your email.My name is William and I'm an US Air Force Lieutenant currently stationed in Florida at a military base.I'm selling it cause I will be sent back to Afghanistan and also my wife and I just had a new baby girl and we need the cash to buy a new house right away here in the states.I am from Canada but i was moved here in USA due to my job and i took my family with me. I must sell it before November 25th.Here are some details about the car (1994 Toyota : Supra Twin Turbo):

Transmission: Automatic, Engine:6 CYLINDER 3.0 LITER TURBO
Standard Equipment:
POWER DOOR LOCKS AM/FM RADIO AIR CONDITIONING CRUISE CONTROL
ABS CASSETTE POWER WINDOWS POWER STEERING
2WD POWER SEAT DUAL 6 CYLINDER 3.0 LITER TURBO
TURBO and much more...

It will be shipped directly to your address via military air cargo have no worries.I have friends that can help me send the car back to Canada if you really want to have it.
The asking price is $5500 CAD, shipping included.You will receive it in 4-5 working days at your home address. It is insured in case of damage.The payment is fully refundable. If for any reason you do not accept the unit or if it has scratches, hidden defects, or it is not as advertised I will even pay for the shipping back to my location if you reject it but i'm sure that it won't happen cause it works and looks perfectly.
I believe it's a large transaction and would like to conduct the deal using an authorized third party as eBay using their Purchase Protection Program , so that should eliminate any trust issues.ONLY AFTER you receive the item and you inspect it, eBay will release the payment to me, in this way we are both protected.
If you are a serious buyer and still interested in this car please reply with your full name and shipping address so we get the ball rolling. I will forward your details to ebay and they will notify you regarding our deal.
Thank you,
If you need more pics just ask.

I want to keep everything as plausible as I can, a couple months ago my parents were actually considering a 2005 Honda Goldwing that had a response very similar to this, told them at once it's an obvious scam, they only dragged it on for a day or two. I'm bored and want to see how much of this guy's time we can waste.

brynm
11-07-2009, 11:35 PM
Ad is already deleted otherwise I would have linked to it too.

tappin_azz
11-07-2009, 11:37 PM
sounds legit

brynm
11-07-2009, 11:42 PM
lawlz, other than the facts that ebay's buyer protection doesn't work like that and you can not join the US military as a canadian citizen,

tappin_azz
11-07-2009, 11:44 PM
ok, but other than that, what makes you think he is a scammer?

over/under is set at 6 days.

Superlifted06FX4
11-07-2009, 11:53 PM
That ain't enough?

fbi90909
11-08-2009, 01:00 AM
5500 for a 94 supra is way too low.. a TT supra with a if say a factory 2jzgte would go much more than just 5500.. supras are now "collectors" items.


it's legit..

tappin_azz
11-08-2009, 01:17 AM
5500 for a 94 supra is way too low.. a TT supra with a if say a factory 2jzgte would go much more than just 5500.. supras are now "collectors" items.


it's legit..

thats what i told him.

Superlifted06FX4
11-08-2009, 01:26 AM
Sarcasm is unnoticed ITT

tappin_azz
11-08-2009, 01:50 AM
it will click eventually

Superlifted06FX4
11-08-2009, 01:55 AM
o rly?

tappin_azz
11-08-2009, 01:56 AM
mrh, maybe not

Superlifted06FX4
11-08-2009, 01:58 AM
lol

joetama
11-08-2009, 04:41 AM
Ask for pictures...

maddskillzz
11-08-2009, 08:09 AM
Tell him you got friends in the area and they are gonna come pick it up and bring the cash

brynm
11-08-2009, 09:55 PM
Latest reply:

Hello there,
Please visit the following link for pics:

http://s911.photobucket.com/albums/ac318/tsuprat1/?start=all

The car has almost 95000miles on it but it runs like new.It has never been involved in any accidents have no worries.No mechanical problems or something like that.If you are still interested to buy it please send me your full name and address so we can start the process.
Regards!


----- Original Message -----
From: JC B
To: wingsofwar55@comcast.net
Sent: Sun, 8 Nov 2009 05:44:18 +0000 (UTC)
Subject: RE: Reply to your "1994 Toyota Supra + Aftermarket 400 Watt Amplifier and Subwoofer" Ad on Kijiji






Thanks for your reply. I am very interested, I can't seem to find the ad anymore. Could you let me know how many kms are on the car and if you could send me some pics of it I would appreciate it, also what amp and sub do you have installed in it? congrats on the baby by the way.

Goremageddon
11-08-2009, 10:00 PM
sounds legit i think u had a comprehension fail he was in the usa and got stationed in canada.

brynm
11-08-2009, 11:34 PM
sounds legit i think u had a comprehension fail he was in the usa and got stationed in canada.

How do you read that from:

I am from Canada but i was moved here in USA due to my job and i took my family with me

joetama
11-08-2009, 11:44 PM
Ask for the VIN so you can run a 'car fax'.

Superlifted06FX4
11-09-2009, 02:48 AM
Ok, wtf is on the hatch, and its worth more that $5,500even being a shitty auto.

Superlifted06FX4
11-09-2009, 02:48 AM
Ask for the VIN so you can run a 'car fax'.

This.

Superlifted06FX4
11-09-2009, 02:48 AM
sounds legit i think u had a comprehension fail he was in the usa and got stationed in canada.

reading>you

Goremageddon
11-09-2009, 05:45 PM
he said he lives in canada, prolly stationed there, after becoming an army person from the military here in the USA, his family is stationed in canada.


hes being deployed.

he got moved down into FL. hes about to goto the desert.



comprehension i has it

brynm
11-09-2009, 06:36 PM
he said he lives in canada, prolly stationed there, after becoming an army person from the military here in the USA, his family is stationed in canada.


hes being deployed.

he got moved down into FL. hes about to goto the desert.



comprehension i has it

No, joo don't. He says he is from Canada, but has moved with his family to Florida. Also, as a Canadian which he says he is, you can not join the US armed forces.

bigtoyota479
11-09-2009, 06:38 PM
The whole thing is a fucking scam. You can't use Ebay protection unless it's sold on Ebay, IIRC. Like he's going to pay to have the car shipped up there and eat the cost if you don't like it. Come on.

joetama
11-09-2009, 06:54 PM
Sounds like he was implying the US Gov't would pay for it.

atoz350
11-16-2009, 07:20 PM
This guy seems legit.